Jukebox Friday

How Far I’ll Go – Auli’l Cravalho

I’m planning to say a word or two about the Oscars tomorrow, but on Jukebox Friday, I wanted to share one musical performance from the gala that is oh so good. From the latest Disney goodness Moana, a flawless performance by the young, talented and stunning Auli’l Carvalho. Happy Friday, everyone!

Before she sings the solo, shall I set the scene?
Picture a young warrior, not even 17
She dreams of open seas
She’s full of hope and sees a future 
where she sets the sail and ropes against the open breeze
She doesn’t know that she’s a voyaging descendent
Impatient, independent, all of nature in attendant
The ocean’s at her feet, she opens her eyes to find
Her mind is on her island but her eye’s on the horizon line

I’ve been standing at the edge of the water
Long as I can remember
Never really knowing why
I wish I could be the perfect daughter
But I come back to the water
No matter how hard I try

Every turn I take
Every trail I track
Every path I make
Every road leads back to the place I know
Where I cannot go
Where I long to be

See the light where the sky meets the sea
It calls me
No one knows how far it goes
If the wind in my sail on the sea stays behind me
One day I’ll know
If I go there’s just no telling how far I’ll go

I know everybody on this island
Seems so happy on this island
Everything is by design
I know everybody on this island
Has a role on this island
So maybe I can roll with mine

I can lead with pride
I can make us strong
I’ll be satisfied if I play along
But the voice inside sings a different song
What is wrong with me

See the light as it shines on the sea
It’s blinding
But no one knows how deep it goes
And it seems like it’s calling out to me
So come find me
And let me know
What’s beyond that line
Will I cross that line

See the light where the sky meets the sea
It calls me
And no one knows how far it goes
If the wind in my sail on the sea stays behind me
One day I’ll know
How far I’ll go

Leave a Reply

