Jukebox Friday

La La Land soundtrack – Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone

Is everyone feeling a little romantic this Friday? I know I am. Recently I saw ‘La La Land’ and it was so amazing. Although the ending felt like a stab of a knife straight in my heart and they just keep twisting and twisting and twisting the blade until all of me bled out… Yeah, that kind of a movie. But what else can I do, other than pay a proper tribute to the phenomenal songs in this movie and also congratulate the movie for its insane 14 Oscar nominations, tied with Titanic on nominations, and I hope that La La Land would beat Titanic’s 11 Oscar wins. Without further ado, here’s two songs from the movie. Have a weekend full of dreams.

First, it’s ‘City of Stars’, the duet version. It has already become a song that I can’t sing along without crying. If some day I can manage to sing it without crying, I would then know that I have everything that I ever wanted. ❤

City of stars, are you shining just for me?
City of stars, there’s so much that I can’t see.
Who knows? I felt it from the first embrace I shared with you.
That now our dreams, they’ve finally come true.

City of stars, just one thing everybody wants.
There in the bars and through the smokescreen of the crowded restaurants.
It’s love. Yes, all we’re looking for is love from someone else.
A rush. A glance. A touch. A dance.

A look in somebody’s eyes. To light up the skies. To open the world and send it reeling.
A voice that says, I’ll be here, and you’ll be alright.

I don’t care if I know, just where I will go.
‘Cause all that I need is this crazy feeling, a rat-tat-tat on my heart. Think I want it to stay…

City of stars, are you shining just for me?
City of stars, you never shined so brightly.

***
Next, my favorite song from the movie, “Audition – the fools who dream”. Cos I know I would still jump head first, even if I know I would fall and there might be no one to catch me. If you’re just like me, here’s to the ones who dream.

My aunt used to live in Paris. I remember, she used to come home and tell us these stories about being abroad and I remember she told us that she jumped into the river once, barefoot.
She smiled…

Leapt, without looking and tumbled into the Seine. 
The water was freezing. She spent a month sneezing. But said she would do it again.

Here’s to the ones who dream. Foolish as they may seem.
Here’s to the hearts that ache. Here’s to the mess we make.

She captured a feeling. Sky with no ceiling. The sunset inside a frame.

She lived in her liquor. And died with a flicker. I’ll always remember the flame.

Here’s to the ones who dream…

She told me:
“A bit of madness is key to give us new colors to see.
Who knows where it will lead us? And that’s why they need us”

So bring on the rebels, the ripples from pebbles.
The painters, and poets, and plays.

And here’s to the fools who dream. Crazy as they may seem.
Here’s to the hearts that break. Here’s to the mess we make.

I trace it all back to then. Her, and the snow, and the Seine
Smiling through it. She said she’d do it again…

Leave a Reply

