Nerdy Basement

My Favorite Movies I Watched in 2016

It’s Nerdy Saturday so this week I’m going to list my favorite movies I watched in 2016. Not all of them came out in 2016 because some are Oscar movies that came out in 2015. But 2016 is still an amazing year movie-vise. I still remember in the year 2015, there were only 7 movies that I ranked 9-10 stars. In 2016, there are twice that amount plus tons of movies that got 8 stars. So to gather a top 15 list was a breeze these time around. Let’s get going!

1. Deadpool (2016)
The movie that I saw back in February 2016, I knew already then that it’s going to be the best movie of the year. And I was right, there is only one other movie sharing the top ranking but Deadpool is, of course, going to be my ultimate love of the year. There’s no competing, because of me waiting for a Deadpool movie for over 6 years, ever since the Wolverine Origin movie came out and they completely raped the Deadpool character in the arse. I’ve always been Ryan Reynolds’s girl, I love that he’s the funny heartthrob and he definitely deserves everything Deadpool brought him. 🙂 Go Ryan! And you can read my mini review of the movie here.
My IMDb rating: 10 stars out of 10

Kuvahaun tulos haulle wiki arrival2. Arrival (2016)
Arrival is such a special movie, with spectacular effects, good cast and a story that sends chills because it just combines the right elements to make me love it. Part sci-fi, part mystery with an ending result so touching and beautiful that it made me breathless. It was a movie with the pace that was really rare nowadays because a fast pace seems to be everything and the editing of movies goes along with that. But a slow pace takes a unique set of skills because done wrong it becomes boring and needlessly artsy. You have to have enough substance to burn it slow. ‘Arrival’ is the grand example of a brilliant slow burn. You can read my mini review here.
My IMDb rating: 10 stars out of 10

Kuvahaun tulos haulle wiki hacksaw ridge3. Hacksaw Ridge (2016)
Almost a sure hit in the coming Oscar season, it’s an unbelievable story of the first soldier who refused to carry a weapon. Shunned and violently bullied by other soldiers at training, not once did he bend or lose hope or faith in himself or God, and his story is my favorite war hero story I’ve heard so far. I love Andrew Garfield in it, his portrayal of Desmond T. Doss was touching and real. His story strengthened my faith in humanity, in the good in people, and that you only need to have the strength to do a bit at a time. And after you’ve done that little bit, ask for the strength for one more. For Doss it was the strength to save one more life, but for us regular people, it can just be one more push-up, one more minute of running, one more day of eating healthy. Just one more. Here you can read my mini review.
My IMDb rating: 9 stars out of 10

Kuvahaun tulos haulle wiki doctor strange movie4. Doctor Strange (2016)
To be honest, I’m starting to get numb with superhero movies. It’s easy to get swept away with the fanfare, every Marvel movie is a huge phenomenon. It’s a must for all the nerds and fans, and it is. But as they continue on pushing out a movie after movie, even Marvel can do just okay. I do realize that not many have caught on to the mediocreness of the recent movies from the Marvel Movie Universe, and it might never do with the general public, but I hope that Marvel would remember their fans like me. I can be their biggest fangirl but I won’t tolerate ‘just okay’. I will call it as I see it. Anyways, that’s why I’m momentarily relieved because Doctor Strange was freaking awesome. It returned some of my faith in the MMU phase three, after the very mediocre phase 2. My mini review here.
My IMDb rating: 9 stars out of 10

Kuvahaun tulos haulle wiki sausage party5. Sausage Party (2016)
Oh that was naughty! It must one of the first animations so obviously aimed at adults, with its raunchy jokes and just plain offensiveness. I mean come on, what else did you expect from a movie called ‘Sausage Party’. It made me giggle like a little girl, and it was like watching an especially bold sex-ed movie for the first time. It’s racist, it’s sexist, it’s not everyone’s cup of tea. But it was my kind of funny. Read my mini review here.
My IMDb rating: 9 stars out of 10

Kuvahaun tulos haulle wiki train to busan6. Train To Busan (2016)
So imagine zombies and K-drama mixing together. That’s when you get ‘Train To Busan’. It’s not your regular zombie movie, because instead of focusing on the living dead and how to kill them, this movie focus on the people. With the way of handling human emotions only Koreans know how, it hits you with the amount of feels that you probably aren’t equipped to handle. I mean I was sob-crying all the time, but I’m a girl and I cry in movies all the time. But it’s going to be a movie that might make even manly men shed one manly tear. XD Anyhoo, here’s my mini review. 🙂
My IMDb rating: 9 stars out of 10

Kuvahaun tulos haulle wiki kubo and the two strings7. Kubo and The Two Strings (2016)
This has probably passed the radars of most people because it’s animation that’s not Finding Dory or The Secret Life of Pets or Zootopia. But Kubo is better than those three combined. It’s really a family friendly movie but at the same time you won’t get bored as an adult. I’m happy to see that Hollywood is dipping their feet in the direction of Japanese animation, movies from Studio Ghibli. The visuals are simply beautiful, unique and so stunning. It’s a pity that it didn’t receive the audience it deserves in the box office, I hope it would get what it deserves in this coming award season. Read my mini review here.
My IMDb rating: 9 stars out of 10

8. The Nice Guys (2016)
Another of those movies that got overlooked because of the lack of marketing and probably came out at the wrong time. But it’s going to surprise the heck out of you by how freaking entertaining this was and I wouldn’t be shocked if it receives a cult status. Do read my mini review here.
My IMDb rating: 9 stars out of 10

Kuvahaun tulos haulle wiki the big short9. The Big Short (2015)
Ah from the last year’s Oscar season, there’s ‘The Big Short’. Definitely not one of those movies that you can just hang your brains at the door and relax, because trust me, you wouldn’t be able to keep up if you don’t pay enough attention. To say it’s a fast-paced movie would be an understatement, it moves faster than any movies I’ve ever seen. But if you enjoy this kind of fast, then ‘The Big Short’ would entertain the living shit out of you. Read my mini review here.
My IMDb rating: 9 stars out of 10

Kuvahaun tulos haulle wiki room10. Room (2015)
The movie that got Brie Larson her Oscar and that’s an Oscar well earned. I loved how this movie showed the power of imagination and how everything can seem different from a different perspective. How big that room seemed in the beginning of the movie when it was a young woman and her young son’s whole world. And how little that room in the later of that movie then seemed. It’s a tragic story, with incredibly and unbelievably real emotions and mistakes. Read my mini review here.
My IMDb rating: 9 stars out of 10

Kuvahaun tulos haulle wiki spotlight11. Spotlight (2015)
Another one from the last Oscar season and it’s the winner! Spotlight won the best picture Oscar and it definitely surprised me a bit. It might be that there were too many good movies in that season and it was hard to give credit for everyone. So while Spotlight only had two Oscar wins, lesser than The Revenant and Mad Max, it definitely felt like a ‘let’s-make-everybody-happy’ kind of Oscar season. With that said, Spotlight was a stunning and exciting story about something straight out disgusting and it had succeeded in staying on the matter and not be overtly judgmental, the judging it left with the audience and yes I am judging. Read my mini review here.
My IMDb rating: 9 stars out of 10

Kuvahaun tulos haulle wiki swiss army man12. Swiss Army Man (2016)
The indie of the year that has a story so crazy, you just have to see to believe. It has a stunning soundtrack that I love to listen even after the movie. I like Daniel Radcliffe, and he really did one of his best roles in the Swiss Army Man. You can read my mini review here.
My IMDb rating: 9 stars out of 10

Kuvahaun tulos haulle wiki rocky13. Rocky (1976)
Yes, I’ve never seen Rocky before its 40th birthday and I am so ashamed of it. Because ‘Rocky’ was everything. I already adore Stallone from all of his movies like Rambo, but I fell for Rocky, I fell in love with Sly being Rocky. He’s definitely one of my favorite fictional characters ever. I even have a Rocky poster on the wall that I face almost every morning when I work out at home. Rocky gives me strength to finish my workout with all I got. Read my mini review here.
My IMDb rating: 9 stars out of 10

Kuvahaun tulos haulle wiki lars and the real girl14. Lars and the Real Girl (2007)
Another Ryan Gosling movie from six years back. It was one of those movies that I just forgot to watch when it came out. But the story of an extremely shy guy who bought a realistic sex doll online and presented it to everyone as his girlfriend. And it was so touching when a whole little town went onboard. Read my mini review here.
My IMDb rating: 9 stars out of 10

Kuvahaun tulos haulle wiki florence foster jenkins15. Florence Foster Jenkins (2016)
From all of those movies that got an 8-star rating from me, I chose one to put in my list. And I had to choose this Meryl Streep movie, just because it’s simply delightful. It made me laugh so hard and as I understood it, laughter is the precious legacy of Florence. It’s her gift to the world, even though she didn’t intend it to be funny. I would remember this movie as the one that changed my mind about Hugh Grant. I’ve never been his fan, but Hugh was really good in ‘Florence Foster Jenkins’. Read my mini review here.
My IMDb rating: 8 stars out of 10

That’s it for the year 2016. I’m really forward to the movie year of 2017!

One thought on “My Favorite Movies I Watched in 2016

Leave a Reply

