Emo Attic

When soda becomes vodka

Someone once said…

“Soda becomes vodka. Bikes become cars. Kisses turn into sex.

Remember when dad’s shoulders were the highest place on earth and mum was your hero?

Race issues were about who ran the fastest. War was only a card game.

The most pain you felt was when you skinned your knees, and goodbyes only meant until tomorrow?

And we couldn’t wait to grow up…”

I say to this…

Now you can have both soda and vodka. Better yet, mix them together.

You got to know the joy of feeling the wind in your hair while riding a bike, you also got to know how fun it’s to sing to the radio on road trips in cars. Better yet, put the bikes on a car rack for new adventures.

Now you get to kiss during sex and learn pleasures you never thought possible.

Mom and dad might not be superheroes anymore, but you learn that they are humans too. They are now your friends, confidants, people you can always trust and lean on.

You aren’t ignorant about the ugly truths of our world anymore so now you can do something about it. If nothing else, help fight the injustice by being a better person, be the example.

You will get to know pain like never before but also love like no other, happiness like no other.

Although we are grown-ups now, it’s your choice to lose the child inside.

***

That was a little quote I saw online and found it incredibly sad. Because it’s true. There are days I want nothing more than to be a kid again, the biggest worry to have was whether it would be a sunny day next morning so I could go out to play. But then I remember what I have now that I’m older, how hard I laugh when I hang out with my friends, how content I would feel to be in the arms of someone I like, how freeing it feels to have your own place. And even when it gets to be too much some days, I would not change a thing.

Leave a Reply

