Nerdy Basement

‘Power Rangers’ and ‘Birth of the Dragon’ – trailer reviews

So a couple of trailers caught my eye recently. First one is ‘Power Rangers‘ (2017). I know, I can’t believe I’m saying this either. I’ve never been a big fan of the Power Rangers TV show, it’s so freaking cringe-worthy even when I was a cheesy kid. But I didn’t turn it off when it came on the TV. šŸ˜€ I was kinda waiting for this to happen though, I won’t be surprised if they announce doing the Powerpuff Girls next. XD So the trailer rolled in, and I watched it and… well, you watch it first too.

Okay, it’s ridiculous how I got a little excited within the first two seconds, cos the freaking theme song! šŸ˜€ Oh childhood. And the beginning reminded me of Breakfast Club. I like that they are introducing new young actors but have solid experienced supporting roles like Bryan Cranston and Elizabeth Banks, both of which I love. And what a long ass ‘teaser’. This is a full trailer, tells a bit too much even. But I will talk about the pathetic attempts at making good trailers nowadays some other time. So to be honest, this is pretty cool. šŸ˜€ I can’t believe I’m actually excited about a Power Rangers movie. I mean, it can’t be worse than the latest Fantastic Four, right?

Then onto another trailer, which got me infuriated. Take a look.

They are advertising it as Bruce Lee biopic? But the lead is white? At first I was like, okay, they are making Bruce into a Mr Miyagi. I was semicool with that. But then, the trailer went deeper into the Bruce Lee part. I’m not sure is the cut of the trailer or what, but they made Bruce Lee sound like an arrogant jerk. And the fight between him and the monk… *facepalm* I don’t know what the hell to call this. Racist, oh yes. Whitewashing, a bit. Disrespectful towards the legend that is Bruce Lee, most definitely yes. I can’t believe that it’s funded by Chinese, so there is Chinese out there who hates Bruce Lee? Or else, why would you made him into a jerk? I hate this trailer so much. I’m a huge Hong Kong action movie fan, I accept that the golden age is already gone, but that doesn’t mean they have to dig up the gold and tarnish it. Hong Kong action movies are all about impossible stunts done with professional talent and dedication, great fighting scenes were exchanged with sweat and blood and real injuries. This trailer is not it. Bruce Lee fans are definitely calling bullshit, action movie fans who know Bruce Lee won’t buy this shit either. But I hate the idea that the new generation who doesn’t know about Bruce Lee apart from his name, and they see this movie… -.- Shame on you, Hollywood, shame on you.

Leave a Reply

