Jukebox Friday

Bird Set Free – Sia

And we’re back. Or we will be! I know I sucked at staying on schedule lately, but I’m finally on my summer vacation now so this weekend I will try to get us back on track, so don’t mind random posts popping up in strange times. I mean, do mind them, cos I would love you to read them. 😀 But let’s get us back on track with one of my favorite track from Sia. She had recently become one of my favorite artists and I will do an album review or two this summer. This is the first song from her album “This is Acting”, and I love it. It has the lyrics that lift me up every time I’m down and lift me even higher when I’m happy. It reminds me of how hard I fought to be the person I am now and I still want to grow. And oh my God, her voice is phenomenal. So here’s for the first Friday of my vacay, Sia’s “Bird Set Free”.

Clipped wings, I was a broken thing
Had a voice, had a voice but I could not sing
You would wind me down
I struggled on the ground, oh
So lost, the line had been crossed
Had a voice, had a voice but I could not talk
You held me down
I struggle to fly now, oh

But there’s a scream inside that we all try to hide
We hold on so tight, we cannot deny
Eats us alive, oh it eats us alive, oh
Yes, there’s a scream inside that we all try to hide
We hold on so tight, but I don’t wanna die, no
I don’t wanna die, I don’t wanna die, yeah

I’m not gon’ care if I sing off key
I find myself in my melodies
I sing for love, I sing for me
I shout it out like a bird set free
No, I don’t care if I sing off key
I find myself in my melodies
I sing for love, I sing for me
I’ll shout it out like a bird set free…

Now I fly, hit the high notes
I have a voice, have a voice, hear me roar tonight
You held me down
But I fought back loud, oh

There’s a scream inside that we all try to hide…

And I don’t care if I sing off key…

Leave a Reply

