Jukebox Friday

Scott Bradlee’s Postmodern Jukebox in Helsinki

The source of inspiration for my little Jukebox Friday, Scott Bradlee’s Postmodern Jukebox is an awesome group of talented musicians making popular songs into jazzy covers. Last August I spotted an advertisement that they were coming to Finland! I immediately purchased two tickets although I had no idea who I would woo to go the thing with me, not many of my friends listen to pop or jazz or jazzy covers of pop songs. So when I met Sir Atticus, I asked Him to go to the concert with me almost right away, literally on our first date. In addition to the fact that I really like just hanging out with Him, He is also the guy who has TSwift Tuesdays just for fun, and knows the lyrics to JT’s ‘Cry Me a River’. So He was the perfect companion to PMJ concert cos I was pretty sure He would almost like the music as much as I do.

Last night was a phenomenal show. There was tap-dancing, brilliant vocals, some in the audience were dancing the whole show. Now I’m not talking about moving-your-hips-dancing. Some couples were dancing-with-the-stars ball-room dancing for two hours straight. The venue was small and intimate, even the little pitchy sound system didn’t annoy me as much as usual. Two hours worth of great renditions of pop and rock and r’n’b songs that sometimes had not reached their full potential until PMJ arrives and works its jazzy magic on them. Don’t forget to check them out on Youtube, and get their albums on iTunes and of course, check their website to see if they are putting on a show at a city near you too. I would definitely go see them again when they come back to Finland some day, and I hope that PMJ’s other regulars like Haley Reinhart would be with them. Cos her version of Radiohead’s ‘Creep’ is one of my favorite things in this world. For today Jukebox Friday, I chose five songs from the show to introduce the different vocals I got to hear live last night. Enjoy! 🙂

Hardly anyone’s songs scream ‘great show’ as loudly as Lady Gaga’s, so of course a cover of her ‘Bad Romance’ is in my little list of five. Sara Niemietz was one of the singers last night with a strong solid voice and one of the Sole Sisters Sara Reich, the sensational tap dancer seen on the left in this video, she put on quite a show for us last night. I had always secretly wanted to learn to tap-dance, it sure looks fun!

And then came the unbelievable version of ‘My Heart Will Go On’, sweet baby Jesus, that voice! Here we meet the bass player Adam who played the double bass last night. Double bass and cello are among my favorite instruments to listen to (the others are piano and acoustic guitar).

I love me some Red Hot Chili Peppers, but this version of the classic ‘Give It Away’ is insane! And the charming multi-talented Aubrey Logan with the bold voice was a joy to witness last night. A lady who could blow. 😉

Then there’s one of the crowd pleaser by the oh-so-pretty Von Smith who made the audience sing along to TSwift’s fun ‘Shake It Off’.

Last but definitely not least, the beautiful Cristina Gatti (on the left) with the soulful Edith-Piaf-like sound. She’s a delight to watch and listen to in a live show, I really like her voice.

I couldn’t find a proper video about it, but during the encore of the show, they did a medley of ‘As Time Goes By’ and ‘Someday’. ‘As Time Goes By’ is one of my favorite songs, and has been for almost 20 years. So many had done their covers of the Dooley Wilson original song, but I find Nancy Sinatra’s version closest to the one I hear in my head. 😀

Leave a Reply

