Weekly Obsessions

Weekly Obsessions, part 23 – army base stew, anniversary and Mother’s Day

2016-05-07-17-35-22It’s the first week of the year that felt like summer, I took out the garbage today in my sleeveless top and shorts. If not for my stupid pollen allergy, I would sit outside whole day. It’s also Mother’s Day today! Don’t forget to at least call your mom today. I will talk about how I celebrated Mother’s Day in a bit among other fun things that happened this week so let’s get onto this week’s list of obsessions. πŸ˜›

1. Korean army base stew – Budae-jjigae)

2016-05-05-20-14-57It’s a recipe from Maangchi, a Korean lady who makes great cooking videos and is always a joy to watch. I love Korean food and especially the stews, and this time it’s the army base stew’s turn. I didn’t find spam anywhere though, and I didn’t add the noodles, otherwise this time I followed the recipe quite closely. I added extra rice cake and tofu, and the beans tasted surprisingly good in the mix, although it did sound a little strange when I looked at the recipe. Also I was a little too lazy to soak up some shitake mushrooms, so I just added regular mushrooms. It’s spicy and tasted like comfort food to me. πŸ™‚ Do try other of Maangchi’s recipes too, they are pretty simple and quite delicious.

2. Kimchi omelette

2016-05-05-11-50-13

So what to do after the left-over baked beans and kimchi from the stew I made earlier? Make breakfast of course! I have Thursday and Friday off this week so plenty of mornings with plenty of time to make proper breakfast. So I made kimchi omelette, which tasted divine! Because the kimchi is so flavorful, it didn’t need any other seasoning, not even salt. I did add a little big of cheese so it gave it a little bit of saltiness. Just some spring onion and coriander into the mix, and that was it. And the rest of the beans I used for dipping the rye bread in, it was a delightful breakfast. πŸ™‚

3. Savages (2012)

First of all, I must tell you guys that I am a HUGE fan of the movie ‘Natural Born Killers‘. So when a movie called ‘Savages’ with a interesting trailer and I found out that the director of NBK is doing Savages, I was pretty excited. It also had actors whom I like, all three of the leads. Although maybe I should have taken into consideration that unlike NBK, the story was not written by Quentin Tarantino. For some reasons, I didn’t see this movie when it came out and I kinda forgot about it for a few years. Until I just suddenly remembered it this week so I decided I should finally watch it, and was mildly surprised that it was almost a 2.5-hour movie. It wasn’t boring or anything, it was quite entertaining but there really isn’t enough story to warrant so many minutes of my time. The first hour of the movie was pretty good. I happened to like Blake Lively, many don’t particularly like her acting, I don’t see anything wrong with it and she’s super pretty in my eyes. And the male leads Taylor Kitsch and Aaron Taylor-Johnson are super hot, and oh yeah, they weren’t bad actors either. The attractiveness of the leads were one of the force that holds up the whole film, they were easy to look at so I didn’t get bored as easily. The story dragged on, some sparks whenever Benicio Del Toro was on screen, giving us an ultra creepy performance, and if you ask me it was almost a bit over the top how much was done to make the audience hate the guy. Especially when you are not going to give us any satisfying ending. The ending… how to say it nicely… it was complete utter shit. Anti-climatic, ridiculous and literally the easiest way out. And I’m one of those who judges a whole movie based on the ending, so although it had its moments and was entertaining, my IMDb rating was 6 out of 10. And it was already super generous of me, just because I like Aaron Taylor-Johnson a lot (yes, because of Kick-Ass). Sure, Savages was worth a watch I guess, just don’t except anything close to NBK.

4. One year anniversaryΒ 

So on Friday, 6th May, I had an one year anniversary. One year ago that day I had my first session ever. Sir Atticus was gracious enough to agree to celebrate it with me, and with something that I’ve never experienced before, the lexan cane. I would write about the new cane later, but I’ll give you a teaser: it hurt a LOT. It was a long session with different kinds of pain as the major theme and I broke down many times. The window to Sir’s place was opened the whole time, and I surely wasn’t quiet even with a gag most of the time. I’m sure the neighbors quite an entertaining two hours. πŸ˜€ In one year time, a lot indeed happened. It had been an amazing journey, and I hope I would have an equally exciting second year and hope there will be many more to come. And thank You, Sir for celebrating my big day with me. ^^

5. Mother’s Day brunch

IMG_20160508_113924For this special day, I put a lot of effort to make a brunch that would suitable for my parents taste buds. Asian parents can be quite particular about their food, most European food don’t appeal to them at all. So I ventured only a little bit out of the box, like Spanish dried ham with melon (which I already knew wouldn’t be a bit hit). But rest of the food was welcomed. πŸ˜› I continued with the Spanish theme to make some Spanish omelette, fried up some mushrooms and sausages as sides, plus some grilled asparagus wrapped in bacon. The little squares of sweet rye bread went well with cream cheese, smoked salmon and cucumber. I also prepared some cold brew coffee last night, cos what’s a brunch without a cup of good coffee, right? I also made some dessert, coconut flavored Greek yogurt with fresh pineapples, strawberries and blueberries. And of course some pretty fresh flowers to brighten up the table. I was very proud of myself to putting this together. πŸ˜› And also for cleaning the dishes and the kitchen afterwards too. I do have a lot of energy, might have something to do with the session on Friday. πŸ˜› Best way to charge you up, if you ask me: :3 Happy Mother’s Day, everyone!

Leave a Reply

