Nerdy Basement

The Oscar Predictions 2016

Just 30 minutes ago I watched the last movie that is one of the major Oscar nominees, “The Bridge of Spies”. Which was so very Spielberg. He is not my favorite director-wise. I actually knew nothing about the movie nor of its director before watching. While watching the movie, I felt it was all too… pompous? Too grand. It’s really a nice story but it’s too long and made too… well, it was like the movie thought itself to be much more than it is. So when it fade to black and the director is shown, it all clicked. It was so very Spielberg.

Anyways, in 1.5 months I have watched over 20 movies, all that were nominated in major categories. I didn’t quite have the time to hunt for foreign movies, animations or the documentaries, nor the short movies. But at least now I can give my two cents. Here’s my Oscar predictions 2016. Let’s begin with the technical stuff.

My prediction is that Mad Max: Fury Road is going to grab all the technical stuff like Visual Effects, Sound Editing, Sound Mixing, Make up and Hairstyling, Costume design, Editing and Production Design. Yes, just because I’m too lazy to go watch Star Wars, and I can only bet on movies I’ve actually watched. So all of the above mentioned, if not for Mad Max, then it’s going to be Star Wars.

Then onto the music. I believe Sam Smith has enough star power to win the Oscar for Original Song, “Writing’s On the Wall” is actually a great Bond song. And as for the Original Score, definitely Tarantino. Tarantino’s movies always had the perfectly awesome score, and the Hateful Eight is not an exception.

I have watched none of the foreign movies, and I only watched one of the animation and that was Inside Out. It is more of a rule that whenever there is a major Pixar movie nominated, it’s also going to win. Usually I agree, cos Pixar is awesome. But for some reasons I don’t think Inside Out deserves it. But nonetheless, I think it’s going to win. It would be a nice surprise if some other movie wins.

I left out one of the technical awards just up there, and that’s Cinematography. It’s usually the one that I care the most cos I pay a lot of attention to camera technique. And whatever I may say about the Revenant later in this post, the cinematography is breathtaking. Seems to have become director Iñárritu’s signature, to make movies look spectacular. Especially the beginning battle in the Revenant, it’s some marvelous looking work with the hand cam. Now that is how you use a hand cam. Take notes, other directors. So definitely, The Revenant is going to win the Oscar for Cinematography. Just like Birdman did with flying colors (pun intended).

And onto the writing awards. Best Writing based on previous materials, The Big Short gets my vote. Although Room was one of the best adaptation from book to screen I’ve seen in a long time, The Big Short was just wow. It wowed me big time. I’m really really surprised that it hadn’t got more attention in the Oscars. Just because it’s a comedy? Sorta. If it’s that, it’s the darkest kind. It’s the kind that make you laugh till it hurts but then you stop laughing immediately when you realize what it all really means for the regular folk. For Best Original Writing, although it would be awesome to see Straight Outta Compton wins, I think it’s going to be Spotlight. It was a super tough movie to watch but it was very well made and the cast was spectacular.

To Directing. Mr Iñárritu seems to be a big favorite again this year. He did an excellent job with Birdman last year, and Birdman is one of my all time favorite movie, but I didn’t feel the same way with The Revenant. If only based on heat, Iñárritu just might win, but I would love to see Adam McKay win for The Big Short, which was refreshingly done.

Now, onto my favorite categories, the acting ones. Let’s start with the ladies. For Best Supporting Actress I would very much like to see Alicia Vikander win for her role in The Danish Girl. She was strong and soft at the same time in it, feminine but dominant. I know Kate Winslet has gathered heat for her role at Steve Jobs too, and she was very good in it. But it was just regular good, nothing amazing. More amazing was Rooney Mara at Carol. If you still manage to shine right next to Cate Blanchett, it’s really something. And then the guys. For Best Supporting Actor, it HAS to be Sly! Him winning for the role of Rocky, it’s 40 years over due! Let’s see my favorite people in the world win! So Creed for the win!

Back to the ladies, for Best Leading Actress. I just watched Room yesterday, and Brie Larson blew it out of the window. She was amazing. In this category, there is three of my favorite actresses, Blanchett, Lawrence and Saoirse Ronan. All of them were very good at their role but Larson, holy shit, what a performance. For once I’m not rooting for JLaw, cos let’s face it, it wouldn’t be JLaw’s last nomination anyway. And then, onto the guys. Everybody keeps saying, it’s Leo’s year. And Leo is red hot right now, and he probably is going to win. I wouldn’t like it though. I thought Matt Damon was better than Leo. I thought Bryan Cranston is definitely better as Trumbo. And Eddie… oh Eddie, his role as Lili, I would love to see Lili win. On the other hand, if we give the golden statue to Leo, he can then stop trying so goddamn hard.

Finally, Best Motion Picture of the Year. These eight movies are nominated and my ratings of them:

The Big Short (9 stars out of 10)
Brooklyn (7 stars out of 10)
Bridge of Spies (6 stars out of 10)
Mad Max: Fury Road (7 stars out of 10)
The Martian (8 stars out of 10)
The Revenant (7 stars out of 10)
Room (9 stars out of 10)
Spotlight (9 stars out of 10)

The two ’empty’ spot should have gone to Creed and Straight Outta Compton. This year is particular hard for me to choose. As you can see, three of the movies got a 9/10 rating from me, all three were very very good. The Revenant is not my favorite, and I really don’t think it deserves to win. I am giving my vote to The Big Short cos that was the movie that shocked me and rocked my world. I hope it would win.

And in case you don’t have time to read the whole thing, here is my predictions of the major categories in short:

Best Motion Picture of the Year: The Big Short
Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role: Leonardo DiCaprio for Revenant
Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role: Brie Larson for Room
Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role: Sylvester Stallone for Creed
Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role: Alicia Vikander for The Danish Girl
Best Achievement in Directing: Alejandro González Iñárritu for The Revenant
Best Writing, Screenplay Written Directly for the Screen: Spotlight
Best Writing, Screenplay Based on Material Previously Produced or Published: The Big Short
Best Achievement in Cinematography: The Revenant

Not a bad year at all, I would say. 🙂

Leave a Reply

