Weekly Obsessions

Weekly Obsessions, part 11 – Mr Pool, the Magicians and St Valentine

Ooops, got just a liiiitle tipsy yesterday from wine so I didn’t write Weekly Obsessions yesterday. Well, here it is to brighten up your Monday. 🙂 God knows my Monday needs a drop of sunshine. Let’s get going right away.

1. The Magicians

So, I think it’s hardly a surprise when I tell you that I’m a huge Harry Potter fan. I read the first four books when I was 14, maybe four times or something. And waited and suffered and waited for the next installments. Then came the movies, and I watched every one of them like a good little Potter fan. After the last movie, it did feel like the end of an era. My life became a little less magical. 😛 Then my first Dom recommended this little new show to me: The Magicians. I’ve only had time to watch the first two episodes but it was… like Harry Potter on crack. Magic. And sex. And bloody violence. What’s not to like in the new show? 🙂

2. The Martian

It took me quite a while to watch the Martian, I’ve had it for months. First I wanted to read the book before watching the film. But then it was just constantly not being in the mood to watch something as depressing as a story about a man stranded on Mars alone. But since it’s one of the movies nominated for the best movie at the Oscars, I had to watch it now. And of course, there’s Matt Damon, so it wasn’t like I suffered it through. I was actually pleasantly surprised how much I enjoyed watching a lonesome Matt Damon busying around Mars. It reminded me of Wall.E and I loved that movie. It was an exciting adventure, and I couldn’t help but be touched to tears in the end at the rescue mission. My IMDb rating: 8 out of 10 stars

3. Valentine’s Day

I am a hopeless romantic. But that’s me every day, not just on Valentine’s Day. On the other hand, I’m the practical kind too. I don’t believe in buying extra expensive chocolate and flowers on the V day, I like getting flowers and chocolate on days that are non-significant in any way. Just because, no reason needed. I had never been with anyone romantic yet. Even when my ex proposed to me, he hadn’t got me any flowers. I hadn’t mind at the time but now that I think about it, it bothered me more that I didn’t mind. Why the hell not? So I’ve come to a conclusion that I really need to learn to ask for affection. Princesses get the princess treatment by being princesses. 😉

4. Polyamory

There were some interesting conversations with my gal friend over drinks this week, as a matter of fact for more than one time. She is very much monogamous. And I am very much poly-amorous. She kinda understands that I wanted several relationships, I am looking for my primary relationship, and ideally I might want one or two secondary relationships. She also kinda understands how the primary relationship works. But what she struggles with were the secondary ones, like how I would ever be satisfied being number two etc. As I tried my best to explain to her how I feel about it, like I don’t mind being someone’s secondary when that someone is my secondary too. Of course, it would be endlessly said that if I want to be someone’s primary but she/he doesn’t want to, or vice versa. Secondary relationships don’t really work if not both person involved are on the same page. If you’re interested in my thoughts on polyamory, read my earlier post here.

5. Deadpool

Saving the best for last. For too long I’ve waited for this to happen. Ever since I watched the first Wolverine seven years ago, I got interested in the character Ryan Reynolds played. And when I found out what they had done to Wade Wilson in Wolverine, I was downright pissed. I have had years to fall for the merc with a mouth, and I had never quite given up the idea of Ryan Reynolds playing Deadpool again, and this time properly. The long wait was finally over. I went to see Deadpool last Saturday. And you know what, guys, it was worth the 7-year wait. So worth it. Although the thought of getting to watch this earlier was tempting, I have to admit, X-Men: Days of Future Past (as confusing as that movie was) needed to happen first. Cos it would have bugged me to no end that Wolverine the first happened and they just ignore it and don’t explain how Wade Wilson is still alive.

I am not going to repeat the story to you, you can go google. And if you don’t already know who Deadpool is, I can’t really recommend the movie for you. It’s only a mediocre action flick for those who are not in the know. Deadpool was through and through a fan movie, a movie for pop culture nerds. There were so many references and jokes that rely on the reference being known. And then there was the breaking the fourth wall. I truly couldn’t figure out how it would work, but apparently it did. So freaking well too. The whole movie became something of an inside joke between Deadpool and the audience and it’s pretty awesome. I do realize it’s only February. But just like last year, I watched Kingsman in February and knew it to be the best movie of the year 2015 (in my opinion), and I was right. I shall repeat the same trick this year. Mark my words, Deadpool is going to be the best movie of the year 2016. I’ll get back to you in one year about this. 😉

My IMDb rating: 10 out of 10 stars (fuck yes it was perfect)

Leave a Reply

