Nerdy Basement

Movies I Watched 2015, Part 1

Last year I wrote a couple of entries about the movies I watched 2014 back at my nerdy blog. If you are interested, here’s part 1 and here’s part 2. I’m thinking doing the same now about movies of 2015. The year 2015 was not that great of a movie year. I watched 79 movies altogether, a small amount of them re-watches. For this post, I only take into considerations movies I watched the very first time in 2015, that doesn’t mean they were made in 2015. Only one movie got the perfect ten from me, six movies got 9/10, and eleven 8/10. There were tons of 7/10 too but from that bunch I’m just going to pick some honorable mentions. Part one consists of the best (a ten, nines and my favorite eights). Next week part two will have the rest of the eights and then the honorable mentions. You can see all the movies I’ve watched 2015 and my ratings of them here. Let’s begin, go let’s go.

KingsmanHere’s my review of the movie

I watched Kingsman already back in February 2015 and already then I knew this was going to be the best movie I’ve seen all year. And look how right I am. 🙂 The only movie I gave a perfect 10/10 score. Here’s the thing with me and the perfect scores. No movie is really worth 10 out of 10. So to earn that one last golden star in my books, a movie has to make me feel something major. A movie that would make me say ‘just wow’ in the end. I said it all in my review, but to sum it up: Kingsman is one heck of a movie with cheeky humor, daring colorful absurd action sequences and is most definitely the finest entertainment of the year.
My IMDb rating: 10 out of 10 stars


Freedom Writers
– Here’s my review of the movie

I always love a good movie that inspires, and it really can’t get inspiring than a movie about a great teacher that changed the lives of so many young people.
My IMDb rating: 9 out of 10 stars

Avengers: Age of Ultron

I’m a huge Marvel movie fan and the first Avengers is one of my all-time favorite. I was so excited for the second movie, but I knew in my heart that it just simply can’t be as good as the first one. And I was right. I couldn’t help being a little disappointed even though I was prepared. It’s still Joss Whedon (the director), and Joss simply can’t be bad. But while the first one seemed like effortless Joss, like it was everything he had ever dreamed of, the second one had this feel that it was all that Joss could do to keep the movie together. To prevent it suck. And in the process, our beloved God of Nerds has exhausted himself completely. Avengers: Age of Ultron was hair-thin closed to be a complete disaster. It did manage to keep itself together, but just barely. That’s why it was still super good, but nothing short of chaotic.
My IMDb rating: 9 out of 10 stars

Birdman – Here’s my review of the movie

Oh my God, Birdman. It was so damn good. It was one of those movies that you would probably never forget once you’ve seen it. I still feel bumped that Michael Keaton didn’t win for best actor, he was so damn good in Birdman. And because the incredibly unique way of directing in Birdman, its director  Alejandro González Iñárritu is the very reason I am going to the theaters to watch The Reverant even if I’m not that into DiCaprio. Cos I know for a fact that if nothing else, that movie would just look incredible.
My IMDb rating: 9 out of 10 stars

Minions

Where have these little yellow creatures been all my life? They are so freaking delightful. The Minion movie is truly long due. And it is completely the same for me how’s the story. I can watch Minions ‘talk’ for hours and it would still be a great movie in my mind. 😀
My IMDb rating: 9 out of 10 stars

The Imitation Game – Here’s my review of the movie

Hhhmm, Benedict Cumberbatch. Now there’s a fine specimen of mankind. That deep voice. That peculiarly handsome face. All that plus an awkward personality made the Imitation Game a fun watch, in addition to being thrilling and so touching in the end.
My IMDb rating: 9 out of 10 stars

Boyhood – Here’s my review of the movie

This was the movie that I speculated for winning the Academy Award but it didn’t. Which was a pity, cos I really thought it deserved it. It was an unique and exhausting way to make a movie. And I think it deserved more recognition than it got.
My IMDb rating: 9 out of 10 stars

If I Were YouHere’s my review of the movie

I had no idea why I loved this movie so much. Maybe it began so hopelessly and ended so full of hope, although all the shit did hit the fan. This little movie is full of dark humor and the topic altogether is actually quite fucked up. But for some reason, it still got me on the hopeful mode, so therefore the very good rating.
My IMDb rating: 8 out of 10 stars

Miss Meadows – Here’s my review of the movie

The movie that changed my mind about Katie Holmes whom I didn’t like and have never liked. But as Miss Meadows she was simply exquisite. I’m wishing for a sequel here.
My IMDb rating: 8 out of 10 stars

Furious 7 – Here’s my review of the movie

The Fast and Furious franchise is very very dear to me. I’m a girl who love action, stunts and fast cars, sue me. And I love Vinnie (Vin Diesel) ever since XXX. 🙂 It was so said when Paul Walker past again and seeing him in action in Furious 7 was bittersweet. And that tribute in the end? Simply beautiful.
My IMDb rating: 8 out of 10 stars

The Raid: Redemption

So you might have guessed, I love action movies. I grew up watching the best of Hong Kong action and so I’m extremely picky nowadays with my action. I’m critical always to all the Hollywood so-called action. You know, with the hand cam swishing around like the camera man was on drugs so that you wouldn’t see any action clearly. Because the stunt coordinators, the stuntmen and/or actors can’t do shit. If the camera stood still, the audience would see too much poorly done fight scenes. Hong Kong movies haven’t been good for decades now, but what Asians are still very good at is the action genre. And a rather surprising movie was The Raid. Storywise it’s a straight copy from the Judge Dredd remake. But the action. Oh my God the action. It is the best I’ve seen for a long long time. It’s fast paced, it’s brutal, it’s so well coordinated that never for one second looked fake. So here, if you want to know what really good action looks like, watch The Raid.
My IMDb rating: 8 out of 10 stars

Leave a Reply

