Nerdy Basement

The Original Sinners – Book series review

I have thought about writing this one on a Tuesday cos this is more a thank-you letter to Tiffany Reisz, the author of The Original Sinners series, than a decent book review. I read the first book of the series few years ago, and it wasn’t my favorite. As a matter of fact it was the weakest piece. That was the reason I didn’t continue straight ahead to book two.

The year 2015 was a poor year in the sense of reading. I hardly ever give up on books before finishing them but I gave up four books last year, just because I couldn’t concentrate properly. Of course, if you’ve been following my blog for a while, you would know that reading might not be the first thing on my mind. However I did get into the world of the Original Sinners with abundant. I began reading the second book roughly the same time as I began my adventures last spring. And these books were like a parallel reality playing the same tunes as I did in my personal life. And more than once it reminded me of an all-you-eat-buffet of all BDSM, from where I was able to pick and choose things I wanted to try the most. It played a small part at helping me figuring out my own fancies and dislikes, at the same time generously giving material for my already naughty imagination.

There are eight full novels in the series, with at least two novels worth of short stories, prequels, sequels and spin-offs. The eight books were divided into two quadrilogies, first part is about the so-called Red Years, about a Domme and erotica author Nora Sutherlin. The second part is in a sense prequels, called White Years. It’s about the time before Nora became Nora, the time when she still was Eleanor and a submissive. Yes, our heroine is a true switch. I usually strongly dislike prequels but I was so in love with all the characters after reading the Red Years, that I was dying to know their story more thoroughly.

Here’s how I’m going to go about this ‘review’. Feel free and go read the synopsis for each book if you want but I won’t be giving my two cents about each book. Instead I am just going to go through all my favorite characters of the series, maybe reflecting the reality too as to how I pinpoint the important things I am looking for in a Dominant and my future Owner. I try my best not to spoil anything from the actual stories, in case you would want to read them yourself too. 🙂 Go let’s go.

Let’s begin with our heroine of the story, Nora Sutherlin. Many times in the books she was described as looking like Rachel Weisz, but in my head she was always Eva Green. The story began as her being an infamous Dominatrix and an erotica writer. Later we discovered that she used to be a submissive and was owned by the most famous sadist in town. Nora is nothing short of phenomenal gal. I have to say that she became a little bit like my idol, in the sense that she is so comfortable in her own skin, being brave and shameless. I have a indescribable fear toward dommes, I don’t know why. Nora made me feel attracted to a domme for the first time. Women can be meaner and more vicious than men, so maybe that’s why I’m scared of them. But I admire Nora as a domme and also her as a sub. She had given me encouragements to be exactly who I am, without compromising.

Søren aka the famous sadist is also somebody I admire. He is kind, extremely smart, scary as hell and there is really no limits to his sadism. He is a so-called extreme sadist, meaning he cannot get aroused without dealing out pain. A little restricting but works better story-wise, I’m sure. What Søren and Nora have is something that I’m striving for in the future. I want my future Owner to be just as indulgent as Søren is to Nora. I’m not able to pinpoint any actor or model that in my head would look like Søren. Many describe him looking like Alexander Skarsgard but Søren is supposed to be super hot, and Skarsgard is not quite there in my mind. My Dom reminds me of Søren, he is very kind, very smart and very scary and his level of sadism can give Søren a run for his money. Although the characteristics might be the same, but my Dom to me is more like what Kingsley is to Nora. And speaking of my favorite character of the series, let’s talk about Kingsley Edge.

Ah, Kingsley Edge. The King of Kink, the owner of the best kinky bars in town. The only French man that I fell for head over heels. I love the arrogance, I love the vulnerability just underneath, I love his kinkiness. He doesn’t just look like Gaspard Ulliel (in the photo) to me, he is Gaspard in my head. I absolutely adore what he and Nora have, they are hardly anyone as compatible kink-wise as them two together cos they really fill each other’s gaps and desires. Partners in crime, good friends that always had each other’s backs. I’m not going to talk about Kingley’s other relationships, cos I don’t want to spoil you. But his character is always a pleasure to get to know, and his so-called origin story was truly fascinating. Without him the whole series would lose a lot of colors and those sexy French words. 

So here it is. Not a review really. I’m here just to tell you that if you ever want to read books about kink, Tiffany Reisz’s Original Sinners is an excellent place to start.

3 thoughts on “The Original Sinners – Book series review

  1. Hi there! I just wanted to say that I really enjoyed your blog post… To say it is great (not just this post, all of yours!) is an understatement. You are really talented.

    I should mention that because of how much I loved this post of yours I had to check out your blog and I couldn’t help but follow you because your blog is both amazing and beautiful! I am so happy I came across your blog and I can’t wait to read more from you, so keep it up (:

    By the way this comment is towards all of your blog posts because they are all equally amazing and incredible, keep up the great work (:

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

